WANDER by Anika

December 8, 2008

Wander: “To walk slowly around or to a place, often without any particular sense of purpose or direction”. That is the first definition that comes up in my English-English dictionary. However, when I hear the word “wander” I can’t help but think of day dreaming. Maybe that’s because I am more that kind of geeky person who is sitting in front of the computer the whole day without moving lower parts of the body. Or maybe day dreaming is also the word that comes into everyone’s mind and my dictionary is just ignorant to that fact, because it clearly cannot day dream. What a shame.

I think that wandering around in thoughts keeps us alive every now and again in this society that can be very harsh sometimes. I remember how I was watching films in my head about being respected in school while actually on my way to a class that was bullying me on a daily basis. In the first years I was suffering from unbearable stomach pain every morning, but all tests led to nowhere. A psychologist then told me, I just have to think about something nice on my way to school, and I won’t suffer anymore. I was laughing at her, because that was just too simple. But, to tell you the truth, she was right. Since then I was literally watching a film in my head every day that consisted of various situations where I could prove my classmates that I am actually not that bad. Before I realized it, I reached the school. And I did not even have time to get my stomach pain. I was too busy wandering around in my head.

But still today, I often escape from the outside world that sometimes tires me, shocks me or just creeps me out. Do you know songs that you love but can’t tell what the lyrics say? I find it extremely hard to concentrate on the lyrics while listening to music. I give it a try every time I am sitting in the train listening to music on my MP3-Player. But after the first twenty seconds my thoughts become driftwood floating around in my head, “often without any particular sense of purpose or direction” – to put in the words of my dictionary.

Most people live a very monotonous life. They get up, have breakfast, go to the office, have lunch, go back to the office, go home, watch a film and go to sleep to get up in the morning to do it all over again. How boring is that? You sometimes just need little day dreams that cheer you up. Wander, day dream, float, drift in your head and you experience a much better world inside you than you will ever find in the outside world. Unfortunately, dreams often don’t come true. But a little dream is often comfort enough to keep you going. And that is all that matters.

In Angel, a song by Sarah McLachlan, the idea is expressed that you can escape from this cold, miserable world into a dream where are you carried by angels. The lyrics say for instance:

There’s always some reason to feel not good enough

And it’s hard at the end of the day

I need some distraction, oh beautiful release

Memories seep from my veins

Let me be empty and weightless and maybe

I’ll find some peace tonight

In the arms of an angel far away from here

Here is a video where you can listen to that song and see some dreamy pictures that go with the lyrics that make you wander.


Leave a Reply

